Beijing mural 2011
Since this was my first official mural in China, I wanted to be precise about what message I was sending out.
I spent what could have been hours on conceptual development and contemplating different aesthetic representations. I had two working days to plan and execute a legit piece before the gallery went on holiday for the Lunar New Year.

Beijing mural 2011
I measured out the wall and composed the elements according to the principle of the Golden Mean.

Beijing mural 2011
Much thanks to Ironlak for the paint and xie xie to the local shop for the authentic Chinese retro basketball shoes.

Beijing mural 2011
The main elements were set, securing the foundation for a contemporary, cosmic take on traditional iconic imagery from the Cultural Revolution.

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011
It was quite cold in the now empty gallery. I had to take breaks often to warm my hands because I found that drawing / painting continuously with cold blood circulation causes your joints to stiffen up, making it hard to make proper curves or even firmly hold the pencil!

Beijing mural 2011
I really liked this phase of the piece.

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011
This is not an art installation but cushioned straw mats for the audience to sit on and observe the work once the gallery reopens after Lunar New Year.

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011
There are many, many metaphors, sacred symbols, ages-old concepts, hidden notions and illustrated systems of micro and macro organizations in here! Even the color choices played an important role in reinforcing the meaning and mental direction of the work. I was going to write an article documenting and explaining all the detail and reasoning behind each segment but I decided to leave it up to the audience to decode.

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011

Beijing mural 2011
Much, much thanks to the lovely miss Leo of Quality Street! She was my French / Chinese liason to the Treescape Gallery and was responsible for the complete arrangement, logistics, supplies and my overall well being during this awesome project! Love!

